File Photo of Hiranagar jail

Banihal/Jammu- The Jammu and Kashmir Police have detained 12 Rohingya Muslims in Jammu and Kashmir’s Ramban district, officials said on Friday.

They had arrived at Dar village in Gool tehsil as part of a Tablighi group, the officials said.

The 12 members were then sent to jail in Hiranagar area of Kathua district, where most of the Rohingyas Muslims, who had illegally entered the union territory, are housed.

Police identified them as Ameer Hakam, Jaffar Alam, Mohammed Noor, Abul Hasan, Mohammed Alam, Noor Ameen, Noor Hussain, Sayeed Hossain, Mohammed Salim, Mohammed Ismail, Kamal Hussain and Mustafa Hussain.

As per the reports, they were staying as refugees at Bhatindi and Narwal in Jammu for eight years.

Follow this link to join our WhatsApp group: Join Now

Be Part of Quality Journalism

Quality journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce and despite all the hardships we still do it. Our reporters and editors are working overtime in Kashmir and beyond to cover what you care about, break big stories, and expose injustices that can change lives. Today more people are reading Kashmir Observer than ever, but only a handful are paying while advertising revenues are falling fast.